Rush To Celebrate 40th Anniversary of "A Farewell To Kings"

posted by Scott Munro - 

Rush have announced that they’ll release a new and expanded edition of their 1977 studio album A Farewell To Kings later this year.

It’ll arrive on December 1 as a Super Deluxe Edition, on 3CD, 4LP and via digital platforms.

The Super Deluxe Edition will include three CDs, a Blu-ray audio disc and four heavyweight 180g vinyl LPs.

The set encompasses the Abbey Road Mastering Studios 2015 remastered edition of the album for the first time on CD – and a complete Rush concert recorded in February 1978 at London’s Hammersmith Odeon. It's been newly mixed by longtime Rush engineer and original A Farewell To Kings producer Terry Brown from the multi-track live tapes.

It will also feature four newly-recorded cover versions by Dream Theater, Big Wreck, The Trews and Alain Johannes, along with an instrumental studio outtake of the “spacey sound effects" used on the album titled Cygnus X-2 Eh.


Check out the full tracklist below:

Rush A Farewell To Kings 40th Anniversary Edition contents

Disc 1: Original Album

  1. A Farewell To Kings
  2. Xanadu
  3. Closer To The Heart
  4. Cinderella Man
  5. Madrigal
  6. Cygnus X-1

Disc 2: Live at Hammersmith Odeon - February 20, 1978

  1. Bastille Day
  2. Lakeside Park
  3. By-Tor & The Snowdon
  4. Xanadu
  5. A Farewell To Kings
  6. Something For Nothing
  7. Cygnus X-1

Disc 3: Live at Hammersmith Odeon - February 20, 1978

  1. Anthem
  2. Closer To The Heart
  3. 2112
  4. Working Man
  5. Fly By Night
  6. In The Mood
  7. Drum Solo
  8. Cinderella Man

Bonus tracks

  1. Xanadu - Dream Theater
  2. Closer To The Heart - Big Wreck
  3. Cinderella Man - The Trews
  4. Madrigal - Alain Johannes
  5. Cygnus X-2 Eh

Disc 4 - Blu-ray Audio

  1. 96kHz 24-bit 5.1 Surround Mix by Steven Wilson
  2. 96kHz 24-bit Original Stereo Analog 2015 Remaster
  3. 1977 Promo Videos:
  4. A Farewell To Kings
  5. Xanadu
  6. Closer To The Heart


Content Goes Here